If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen one of my posts from a while ago:

New additions to the routine 👸 #thefaceshop #cosrx #skincare

A post shared by Bitna Bae (@bitnabae) on

Left: Rice Water Bright Cleansing Light Oil – The Face Shop, $21.10 NZ on YesStyle.com. Right: BHA Summer Pore Minish Serum 100ml – COSRX, $24.99 NZ on YesStyle.com. Price varies depending on membership status and discount sales.

Proposed Effects

  1. (Cleansing oil)
    'Rice water cleanser gently cleanses your face and removes makeup and impurities, leaving skin fresh, clean and soft.'
  2. (Serum)
    '...helps control sebum production and thus visually reduces the size of pores while removing blackheads, whiteheads and other skin impurities ...'

How to use

  1. (Cleansing oil)
    Before cleansing, apply the oil onto your face with dry hands. Massage in circular motions while any makeup/dirt dissolves into the oil. Rinse with warm water.
  2. (Serum)
    Shake well before use. The beauty routine order should be similar to cleanser > toner > serum > essence > cream/lotion > sunscreen > makeup base/foundation. Focus most on applying to areas with blackheads or more oily skin. Pat in the serum with the tips of your fingers. Use morning and night.

Observations

  1. (Cleansing oil)
    I have been using the oil right before taking a shower in the evenings, because I wash my face in the shower. The oil actually doesn’t feel very oily, and has a nice sweet smell. It washes off easily. It kind of feels like the oil gets rid of dirt and anything else on your face, and cleansing just gets rid of any traces of the oil. I’m really liking this product. Maybe it’s because I’m biased towards anything with rice in it.
  2. (Serum)
    I don’t know what it is about this serum, but after using this product a couple of times, my pores shrank so much. My skin looks so much smoother. Even after applying my BB Cream, I can tell the difference between before I started using this and after. The day after my first application, my partner even mentioned that my skin looks a lot clearer. A minor issue that I have with it is that there is some sort of powder inside it that condenses at the bottom of the container, which means you have to shake it every time you use it. My skin also felt a bit sensitive when I kept using it, so now I limit my usage to once a day, in the mornings.

Does anyone else have similar feelings about these products? Comments and questions are welcome. 🙂

